Interlude (49)

July 29th. Exactly one year since I started this series. This is the seventy-ninth poem.

If you’ve been reading this story, commenting, cheering me on – thank you for your support. Couldn’t have sustained the momentum without you. But I would greatly appreciate your consolidated review whenever you can send it to me. The series will draw to a close over the next few weeks (the end of August, I think) and I would love to add your review to this blog. 

That said, this poem will be Part 57.1 in keeping with the chronology. The thoughts, perhaps, are much older than that.

Part 57.1

(I) Maybe in another universe, I sit by the Chao
Phraya and watch the sunlight bouncing off the
porcelain chips on Wat Arun, while in the water,
in little purple boats, are people I know — friends,
lovers, children — dressed in gold and white, their
faces upturned, smiling. Full lips and long-lashed
eyes into which the blue sky falls and thickens to
black. (II) Trays of food are laid on a table, the
aroma of basil and coconut and jasmine rice;
someone plays a note, a flute perhaps, because

birds answer, those with long blue tails and little
red beaks, upside down in the fig trees. I feel
something that I can’t quite name and it takes me
a dream, a night and an undawned day to think
it may have been peace. (III) Nothing is happening
other than what we are seeing. Nothing is being
said other than what we are hearing. The spotted
butterflies are effusive in reply. (IV) Fish swim
in quiet circles around the boat, grey shadows
in overcast pools around my irises. I think I

must jump in to save the moon. Where is it in
this yellow sunshine, in this day that isn’t? What
kind of peace swallows a moon and a whole
morning? (V) The sea washes back into the river,
the water is salty now, the boat rocks, someone
screams. I scream. It is still murky. The water has
curdled, split into flesh and blood. He wakes
me up. A white and gold bed. A dream. A night.
And a day that has not dawned. (VI) Water slaps
against an empty lilac boat. I feel something that

I cannot name and perhaps it might be peace. It
tastes of fear and coconut milk. White like rice.
Gold. (VII) He is talking. Quickly. As if there is no
time. There are crocodiles in the water. The
trays are floating in mottled brine. Like oblations.
The sun has set and the temple is silhouetted
against a sky which has fallen into my eyes and
turned to night. (VIII) Rest, he says. Rest in peace.
Maybe in another universe, the moon and I died,
this morning. (IX) Here, I am alive. I sigh. What if

we could wish for happy endings? A place, a time,
an audience, a quiet, all things done that need to
be done, all things undone that can no longer be
held together by a lie, by a word that will not come.
A clever close, a twist, a dance of language that drags
the reader back to the first line. First moment. Born
as the monsoon retreated. Finished in the poetry of
an unbidden storm. A place, a time, a quiet. (X) The
setting sun is caught in a tangle of wire. A story is
trapped in a dream, in a night, in an undawned day.

(Bangkok, Thailand)

19 thoughts on “Interlude (49)

  1. Hi Raj ~~ I’ll chose two words for my like on this iteration. “birds answer . . . ” reminds me of the conversations I have had with Mockingbirds on the roof tops around us here.
    This will be a nice volume when you finish. I know you know the end, “keep us guessing”.
    ..

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jim. Should be all done in a few weeks.. I have a small group that’s reading it from the beginning, so am eagerly waiting for them to finish and give me feedback on how it works end to end!

      Like

  2. I’d review the whole series as very sensuous. I’m never altogether sure what it’s all about but I enjoy the basil and coconut and jasmine rice, the birds upside down in the fig trees, and the spotted butterflies.

    Like

  3. “Full lips and long-lashed eyes into which the blue sky falls and thickens to black.” … What a gorgeous line in this beautifully composed piece.

    Like

  4. A complex installment of the series which suggests the whole shape of it. I’m not sure the Roman numerals are inserted to suggest progression of the series or simply rooms of the same dream. (Then again, how could they not suggest both.) All of it echoes the Wordsworth quote on your blog and drapes much darker bunting over the journey’s end, if that is where you are getting close to. The particular imagery is fantastic – local and mythic – and the question I come out of it is whether happy beginnings are worth more than fruitful endings, whatever the cost. Well done, Rajani, and happy 1 year anniversary of the journey.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Brendan. And that is such a terrific question – are happy beginnings worth more than fruitful endings, whatever the cost… I think one has to set down the angst to be able to see a fruitful ending and then embrace it with the realization that it is indeed worth it… perhaps writing is setting down angst…at least a little. Appreciate the anniversary wish too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. There is so much beauty in the scene you describe, and so much pain in knowing it isn’t and could never be real.

    Like

  6. First, congrats on reaching this milestone. Your commitment to this series and telling your story are both praiseworthy and inspiring.

    Second, I’ve missed some of the installments… Of course, you know this already, I’m hoping to read the series from the beginning to the end whenever the book comes out. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Khaya. Can’t believe I’ve been at this for a year now!!! As for the ‘book’ – LOL :)))) I assume this will just die in the cyber desert once I finish the series at the end of this month!

      Like

  7. The beauty, peace and colour of the stanzas before the scream lull the reader into a gentle dream – then the contrast of the awakening, which is so well done. A wonderful poem! And a remarkable series that would be well showcased in a book. Smiles.

    Like

Leave a comment