Part 58

One leg up. Then the other. There is no other
way out. The one who prattles on about being
a sport, about playing with the cards I am dealt,

is not interested in discussing privilege. The one
who preaches equanimity in the face of pain
will not take questions on compromise. A box

of labels. A box of solutions. Lines flow from one
to the other. Lines drawn by someone else. Lines
claimed by someone else. I climb higher. It is

the stairway that goes nowhere, just pushes
out of the grime and the swamp and the dark
crocodiles. Out of the toxic air to a place where

I can breathe. Away from the one who peddles
the bromide about god and fate, about the
greater suffering, about the lesser evil, about

affirmations and gratitude. The stairway to
nowhere rises into a different light. Where
seeing is a matter of faith. Where mirrors are

kind. The way up, without needing a shoulder
to lean on. Without needing hands to haul you
up. Arriving at each landing, your breath raw,

the burn in your legs smarting in your eyes,
your body parched with a thirst that has no
shame. No one is watching, no one is waiting,

no one is calling your name. Higher, how
much higher do I need to climb to get away
from the one who said it all and called it love?

18 thoughts on “Part 58

  1. Profound words Great poem
    “Lines drawn by someone else. Lines
    claimed by someone else” The ones who write these lines could be the contemptuous ones.
    The last line struck a chord, and I felt the pain but hé sometimes to say it all could also be a form of powerlessness.

    Like

  2. This is tough, sounds like a terrifying nightmare?? (Nightmares go away, aren’t true–I sort of like having them if only I can remember them.)
    “stairway that goes nowhere” intrigued me a lot.
    ..

    Like

  3. Free advice is often overpriced…

    and shopping “advice” from ads is THE WORST, and it’s a painful duty to notify you that this website aired a VERY BAD AD that started playing SOUND and wouldn’t stop! I thought the FCC had put a stop to those. We all thought we wanted Google Ads, but if they’re going to do that, it may be time for a divorce from Google Ads.

    Like

  4. The last stanza made me shiver. The whole poem is powerful and empowering, like Colleen said. But there is a desperation in the last stanza, an inked wail full of frustration uncertainty. The poem left me wanting to say, “You’re almost there. Just another step. And then another…”

    Like

  5. I read the conversation that rounded the beginning of this journey, betrayal and loss which recounts the past like a travel-book and redeems it only as one can — with poetry. Here the poetry has grown its own legs and manner in defiance of settling for and putting up with. It has written its own book of wonders, now there’s only climbing higher than what everyone says is up.

    Like

  6. You are very near the top indeed, on this journey. What an amazing passage it has been. Your closing lines really hit home for me.

    Like

  7. This is a long and arduous journey. I read this as someone trying to forget a painful past. The imagery is “yummy” (maybe not the correct word).
    Also reminds me of the time both elevators broke down at my block and I have to climb nine storeys back to my home. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment