Part 52

I stand before Dali’s painting of Gala looking
out at the Mediterranean. As I step away from
it, it turns into the face of Abraham Lincoln.
I try it a few times, walking back and forth,

squinting, changing angles. A man watches me
from across the hall. I see what the artist dares
me to see. One thing quite unlike the other.
Yet the very same. I wonder if from twenty

metres away, you would see a different me. At
forty metres, I would be a stranger. Or a sinner.
At hundred metres, I can be whatever you
imagine. An optical illusion. A doppelganger. A

dream. No one knew, for the longest time. Most
people still don’t. What they see is what they
want to. We hide our secrets well. Even ordinary
stories are packed into sarcophagi and buried

deep. Readied for the afterlife. I try another
trick. Peer at myself, nose to the mirror. Then,
measure paces backwards. Haven’t I lived at
different distances from myself? Alone and

young and afraid, I didn’t let myself too close.
Who would want the mirage to unravel? When
I could bear to say it aloud, to myself, find
words for estrangement, abandonment, apathy,

find words to console those words, I began to
tolerate myself, in small doses. Before the sink
holes opened again. What is the antonym of
father? Of mother? What is the colour of

disaffection? The man is smiling at me, watching
my experiments. I wonder what he sees. How far
away he is. How far away I am. What is the perfect
distance for the surreal to sharpen into truth?

(Figueres, Spain)

33 thoughts on “Part 52

  1. Wow. So much brillance here. You don’t use big words for their own sake. You use words to express depth of thought and feeling. I love every sentence. This one, for example, “words for estrangement, abandonment, apathy,”
    These are brave words.

    Like

  2. You have a way of expressing the “surreal”, as you put it, with a subtle complexity that makes the unusual, usual. Great thoughts deserve great writing. You have both.

    Like

  3. What is the perfect distance for the surreal to sharpen into truth? The way you play with language and take us slowly deeper from the surreal into the truth. I think you used the perfect distance. Would have loved to see the Dali museum. have been about an hour away of it recently. Must be amazing

    Like

  4. Great inspiration and choice of topic here Rajani. You sum it all up brilliantly with your close:
    “The man is smiling at me, watching
    my experiments. I wonder what he sees. How far
    away he is. How far away I am. What is the perfect
    distance for the surreal to sharpen into truth?”

    Like

  5. I’ve seen that painting but can’t remember much now. I also ponder all the selves of our selves that we have lived and that are still on the record, only we are listening to this one song now. You are tuning in.

    Like

  6. Raj, in the U.S, you may have it also, “Look them in the eye, the horse look in the mouth,” and they will be known.
    ..

    Like

  7. Another fine installment in the series, Rajani. A poem is a work in perspective, a way of looking, crafted a particular way into a view. This poem is about that work, taking an example from experience (I remember that Dali painting) and turning it into the subject of how seeing works in the practice of memory to aid the deeper work of soul-making. Loved how you end with a stranger watching you watch the Dali, rounding the poem from particular to interior to collective in tidy measures. You’ve trained the voice active in this series to concert readiness.

    Like

  8. This is so powerful. I like the comparison of the different perspectives in viewing the paintings, of looking at oneself from different distances in the mirror – and then those internal refractions in how we come to see ourselves. Deep and so well done.

    Like

  9. Very interesting pose of questions, wanderings and observations; I guess my question of surrealism and its for me would be are our eyes open or closed as well. We will always, I think, strive to reach different dimensions within our capabilities. I love these lines:
    “Even ordinary
    stories are packed into sarcophagi and buried

    deep. Readied for the afterlife.”

    Like

  10. Yes, it looks like a portrait of Lincoln if you just step back from the painting. It is a matter of perspective, or just what one wants to see.
    Your poem poses these questions so well.

    Like

Leave a comment