Part 47

I don’t have the answers. But most deliberation
is rhetorical, isn’t it? Is this life well-lived? How
good should a good poem really be? What if
Icarus had never tried to fly? But you dare to
ask about failure. About rejection. It takes a
lifetime to solve abandonment. I can list my
mistakes. By severity. By consequence. By
date. By regret. I can find things to blame.
Beyond a god, beyond physics. I want to say
despite, still, even though. Words that taste
like cement dust, sticking to the roof of my
mouth. When I reached the Cliffs of Moher, a
thick fog covered everything. Cold, damp, not
a glimpse of rock or sea or sky, as if something
had bitten off one edge of the world. Isn’t a
lot of life just like that? Opaque? Ill-timed? A
function of disconsolate variables? Like us.
Ordinary. Incomplete. There are no reasons to
wake up. There are no reasons to continue.
There are no prizes for winning. You find a
level that is just enough. That works as long
as the tea is warm. That is good for a couple of
verses. That is as short as a long sigh. Enough.
Despite god. Despite physics. Despite the mist.
Seeing enough though there is nothing visible.
Living enough though it counts for nothing, at all.

(County Clare, Ireland)

19 thoughts on “Part 47

  1. “Fog….as if someone had bitten off one edge of the world.” I was in a fog like that a few times. Amazing. I love “You find a level that is just enough.” Wise words.

    Like

  2. Wonderful language and images, as always, but I am currently not in a place to sympathise with the mood. I am experiencing it as pessimistic, resigned – but perhaps I should rather read it as honest and courageous?

    Like

  3. Lots of nice rhetorical suppositions, Raj. I like the most and answered the first (an oxymoron if rhetorical!!). “How good should a good poem really be?” I like the saying, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder,” I believe “Good” is in the mind of the reader. My poetry tutor, my Textbook Teacher Poet Ted Kooser (His Website, http://tedkooser.net/) says to know your readers audience and write for them, I believe that and try to do so.
    ..

    Like

  4. i love the two last lines. Happiness does come from within – it is an attitude, a perspective, which really is something that is a choice! Very nice write.

    Like

  5. It’s hard to believe there will be a day without the fog, but there is some comfort in admitting it’s OK not to have all the answers. LOL, one less thing to stress about.

    Like

  6. ” By severity. By consequence. By
    date. By regret. I can find things to blame.
    Beyond a god, beyond physics. ”
    — great lines!
    Brings to mind what Oppenheimer said on witnessing the first atomic bomb test : “Now I am become Death, Destroyer of worlds”

    Like

Leave a comment