Part 40

A solitary goat herder and his flock and near-perfect views of the sweeping hillscape and the Dead Sea: we were climbing up to the ruins of the fortress of Machaerus — ancient, biblical, deserted, sixty-something kms from Amman — the midday heat offended by the interruption. 2012. A year like a semi-colon. Breathless. Living. Waiting.

At a disability non-profit in Bangalore, I meet her: the driver helps her transfer from car to wheelchair. She is telling me about herself — switching between Tamil, Kannada and English. Sometimes I take notes. Sometimes we giggle. Sometimes we cry together. I am writing her story. An extraordinary story. A story like an exclamation mark. Defying life. Despite life.

In Wadi Rum, sunset changed the colours of sand and stone as we watched a phosphate train chug past, counting carriages like school children. The next day, trapped in a sandstorm, sitting by a fire, drinking a strange, nameless tea, sand in my mouth and hair and fear, I wondered if there was a right place to die, a right way to die? Death like an ellipsis, leaving something unsaid. Leaving everything unsaid. A sand grain tumbling through a continuum.

She is talking of love. And heartbreak. Everything has a reason. Even polio. Even what life became. Even what life did not become. She talks easily. As if sitting under the old chikoo tree, discussing accessible toilets and inclusive schools and love letters in braille was meant to be. A time forever in parentheses. Like a secret. Like a promise.

We rode camels out into the desert to catch the sunrise. At first light, the camel herder from Khartoum prayed, then made tea in a blackened tin kettle on a woodfire. The sky became the colour of tangerines and blood, the camels quicker heading back to camp. Every creature knows when something is over. Done. When it’s time to go home. Where home is. Home like a full-stop. No matter where it begins. Home. Where it ends.

Can I tell Him I want to be a gardener in my next birth, she says, meaning every word. I type quietly, refusing to look up at her. That is not a real question. The sky becomes the colour of ashes and unexpected rain.  That April, in Jordan, there were yellow wildflowers everywhere. On the desert road to Karak, we could see the black irises smiling. When she left, four years later, maybe somewhere her favourite bird-of-paradise bloomed. Maybe she went home. Where it ends. Life like a comma. Between things. Between stories. Between friends. Like death.

(Amman/Wadi Rum, Jordan)
(For the one who is with the flowers)

25 thoughts on “Part 40

    1. Thanks Rosemary. She was someone who embraced life’s curve balls, learnt to live with dignity and grace and then reached out and changed the lives of thousands of others through her organization. Hugely inspiring and I am so grateful for the time I spent with her, ghostwriting her memoir. Am sorry about your friend’s situation, never easy. Wish you strength and love.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am so glad i didnt miss reading this remarkable piece. You took me there, and you painted her as brave as she was. I would love to read the memoir you ghost wrote with her. This is really beautiful writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is vibrantly visual. Months back I had attended a session on cuts as used in films to understand the kire between fragments and phrases in haiku. Your poetic prose reminded me of that. The kire between today and tomorrow. Like a movie in flashbacks and back to the present.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Geetashree. That workshop sounds very interesting. Switchbacks are a great technique. This one doesn’t alternate between timeframes, but between stories – but am glad it worked. Would be harder in haiku with that limited space to manoeuvre.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like perhaps she is in stages of Alzheimer’s Disease? Is “there was a right place to die, a right way to die? Death like an ellipsis, leaving something unsaid?” I dunno. I have said that when my end comes, I hope to have my wits enough to make it to the State of Oregon where assisted suicides are legal.
    I’d like for you to read a bit of my blog about my dog Adi. Adi died in 2012 but she was the perfect dog. We were a Pet
    Therapy Team, she loved visiting the Alzheimer’s residents wing of an assisted living place. The residents loved her coming also, they would tell of us of their dog who didn’t come with them in some very interesting tales.
    Adi’s meme blog, a little bit deteriorated:
    https://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/2008/04/adi-about-me-little-meme.html
    ..

    Like

  4. It is one thing to die with dignity but another to live that way in the face of tremendous physical and societal challenges. With courage, dignity and humility, it appears Ms. Hema created an enriched journey through life that left an inspiring impact. I think her story was very safe in your capable hands.

    Like

  5. Well, this prose piece seems to be making everybody want to read the book! N.S. Hema sounds like an interesting person. If the book cover had linked to Amazon it’d be on my Wish List.

    Like

  6. “The sky becomes the colour of ashes and unexpected rain.”

    “ Life like a comma. Between things. Between stories. Between friends. Like death.”

    I love your descriptiveness throughout this poem.

    Like

Leave a comment