Part 16

Things break in predictable ways. The shard, the
jagged edge and the dust cloud follow a rule, a
pattern, a story. The way day breaks over and
over again without complaint, the way a promise

is broken without a sigh, without ceremony,
the way silence breaks without a word, without
a sob. The way we broke without ever being
whole. I didn’t turn around. Not when I was

gathering parts of me that weren’t parts. Not
when I was mending parts of me that weren’t
me. How does it break, a thing that was, that
never was anything? The way a tree snaps and

falls but no one knows, no one hears? Or the
way the monsoon sky, sapphire in the morning
light, curdles into viscous grey, for a while? I
shattered like a mirror, no longer a mirror but

a thousand mirrors, each seeking the whole
of me, each holding a part of me, reflections
within reflections, the way a solitary star
implodes and swallows the entire universe.

37 thoughts on “Part 16

    1. Thanks Rosemary. I almost didn’t write this poem – I couldn’t find a starting point. But then when one line was gifted to me, the rest just streamed out. I think I will, at different times, have to come back and add poems in between ..

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love “reflections within reflections, ” generally when I am privileged to have on available in a mirrored situation, I tend to play with it some, even make faces and take pictures.
    Things are looking good here. A lot of effort shows well.
    ..

    Like

  2. One doesn’t have to be whole to be broken again–breaking goes on to the point of dust, and molecularly, perhaps beyond. This is striking and penetrating, a heartfelt piece, and I especially like the way you have written with feeling, but not self-pity. Self-examination and sorrow, perhaps. Fine writing.

    Like

  3. Even though the breaking was predictable it feels like there was no way to prepare for the chaos. But hurt can be like that sometimes, breaking even little things inside you that you weren’t aware were there, let alone so breakable.

    Like

  4. After reading this I suspend that one isn’t whole UNTIL there’s breakage, which tells you there are always limits to reaching and yearning and loving. We discover “a rule, a pattern, a story” is a way of being — like this series. And it partakes the fullness of heart. Each of these installments a shard completed with another picture of a reflective person (you?), of different size (and some missing). Picking up the pieces is the poet’s work, and the work makes heart more ample.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such echoes of anguish here. I wrote using similar imagery at a time of great upheaval in my life: the collapsing star, the possibility of a new universe…

    Like

  6. I was wondering if I should go read parts 1-15 before I engaged here but alas the first line hooked me in. Maybe things break in predictable ways when you know the source of the ‘breaking force,’ and perhaps part of the dissembling is linked to the fact that we knew what was coming even though we did not want to know. In reflection we then might discover the core part of us that knew, throwing a new light onto the part that ignored it. Which is real. The poet seeks such answers. I loved the writing here by the way. Very potent.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Paul. In the end, one hopes, going back and gathering all the parts, known and unknown, will provide answers. Or unearth questions one didn’t know needed to be asked. Glad you stopped by. There is a certain method in the madness of writing this series, so do give 1-15 a shot, if you get a chance!

      Like

Leave a comment